The Project Team

Associate Professor Sophie Arkoudis

The University of Melbourne (Project Co-Leader).
Sophie Arkoudis is Associate Director of the Melbourne CSHE and an Associate Professor in Higher Education at the University of Melbourne.  She is a national and international researcher in higher education.  Her research program spans English language teaching and assessment in higher education, student employability, quality of teaching and learning, academic workforce and internationalising the curriculum.

Sophie has published widely in the area of English language education. She has presented keynotes both nationally and internationally on her research into language and disciplinary teaching, English language standards, international students in higher education and English language development.

Dr Anne Harris

Dr Anne Harris

Edith Cowan University (Project Co-Leader).
Dr Anne Harris has 25 years’ experience in teaching and learning in Higher Education. She chaired the Edith Cowan University (ECU) English Language Proficiency Committee and, in that time, established and led significant developments at ECU in relation to students’ English language proficiency (ELP). This comprised new educational policy, proven strategies to develop and assess students’  ELP,  and  transformative support  measures.  She has published in the area of integrating ELP into disciplinary curricula and integrating ELP within courses.

In 2014, Anne received an Australian Award for University Teaching Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning:  “For leadership in the development, implementation and ongoing support of university-wide policies and strategies related to English language Proficiency.” In 2012, she won a Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Service to ECU; in 2011, an Executive Dean’s Award for Excellence in Innovation and in 2007, Vice Chancellor’s Award for Services to Learning and Teaching Excellence. She is a co-director on the OLT Strategic Priority Commissioned Project for English Language Support: What works best: Strengthening the evidence base for English language practices in higher education.

Dr Paula Kelly

The University of Melbourne, (Project Manager)
Paula is a Research Fellow at the Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education at The University of Melbourne. Paula’s research interests include graduate outcomes, higher education policy, quality assurance and student experience. Paula has experience in a range of roles across the higher education sector in both government and academic teaching and research.

Dr Andrea Lynch

James Cook University
Andrea Lynch is the manager of the Academic Language and Learning unit at James Cook University. She has worked in a range of educational settings including various roles in primary and secondary schooling and as an academic and learning advisor in higher education. Andrea’s research interests focus on access and equity in higher education including pedagogies and policies of inclusion, and on literacies in education.

Ms Kerry Hunter

University of Technology, Sydney
Kerry Hunter is manager of the Academic Language and Learning Group at the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS). The group collaborates with Faculties to embed academic literacies across the UTS curriculum, working with course and subject teams to develop discipline specific approaches to teaching academic language and literacy. Kerry has been the recipient of an Australian team teaching citation, 2009, UTS teaching awards, 2008, 2012 and a UTS Business School award 2014.

Project Members

  • Professor Ron Oliver Edith Cowan University
  • Professor Marilys Guillemin, The University of Melbourne
  • Dr Ryan Naylor, The University of Melbourne
  • Associate Professor Jo McKenzie, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Ms Neela Griffiths, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Mr Matthew Thurston, James Cook University

External Evaluator

  • Dr Grace Lynch

Expert Reference Group

  • Professor Lynne Cohen, Edith Cowan University
  • Professor Chris Davison, University of New South Wales
  • Professor Jane Long, La Trobe University
  • Professor Sally Kift, James Cook University
  • Associate Professor Mark Freeman, The University of Sydney
  • Associate Professor Carmela Briguglio, Curtin University
  • Dr Rowena Harper, University of South Australia